Schools to Remain Closed for Rest of School Year: COVID-19


On April 17, 2020, Governor Greg Abbott announced several Executive Orders aimed at restarting the Texas Economy. The first Executive Order establishes a strike force consisting of three separate sets of professionals.

(1.) The first is government and includes: Lieutenant Governor Patrick, Speaker of the House Dennis Bonnen, Attorney General Ken Paxton and Comptroller Hegar. (2.) The second workgroup includes medical experts, and (3). the third consists of business leaders.

In one of the Orders, the Governor announced that schools will remain closed for the remainder of the school year, because it “would be unsafe to allow students to gather.”. The Commissioner of Education will provide further guidance as to further steps (some can be found here), including how to proceed with graduation ceremonies.

Share this post