Mitzi Mayfield Becomes a Member of The American College of Transportation Attorneys

Underwood Shareholder, Mitzi Mayfield recently became a member of the American College of Transportation Attorneys.
ACTA is a select group of experienced transportation defense attorneys across the United States. Membership is limited to 25, each with over 20 years of trucking industry service.

Alex Yarbrough Selected as a 2022-2023 Nominating Chair by The Bar Foundation

Alex L. Yarbrough with Underwood Law Firm has been selected to serve as a 2022-2023 Texas Bar Foundation Nominating Chair for District 13.  Nominating Chairs for each of the 17 State Bar of Texas districts identify nominees to join the Foundation as Fellows. Nominating Chairs of the Foundation are selected for their outstanding professional achievements and their demonstrated commitment to the Texas Bar Foundation.  Selection is a mark of distinction and recognition of Mr. Yarbrough’s contributions to the legal profession. 

Mr. Yarbrough has devoted a significant portion of his practice to defending cities, counties, and law enforcement in all manners of disputes. Mr. Yarbrough’s practice focuses on all aspects of civil litigation, from pre-lawsuit resolution through the appeal of a judgment rendered by a trial court. Mr. Yarbrough handles a variety of real estate litigation, trucking and automobile litigation, commercial litigation, and premises liability. Mr. Yarbrough has experience handling complex matters of wrongful death, Federal Employers Liability Act, and railroad grade crossing accidents involving catastrophic injuries.

Selection as a Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation is restricted to members of the State Bar of Texas.  Each year one-third of one percent of Texas attorneys are invited to become Fellows.  Once nominees are selected, they must be elected by the Texas Bar Foundation Board of Trustees.  Membership has grown from an initial 255 Charter Members in 1965 to more than 10,000 Fellows throughout Texas today.  If you are a Fellow and have a recommendation for a new member, please contact your District Nominating Chair.

Founded by attorneys determined to assist the public and improve the profession of law, the Texas Bar Foundation has maintained its mission of using the financial contributions of its membership to enhance the rule of law and the system of justice in Texas.  To date, the Texas Bar Foundation has distributed more than $24 million throughout Texas to assist nonprofit organizations with a wide range of justice-related programs and services.  More than $1.5 million is projected to be distributed for grants this fiscal year.  For more information, please visit

The Texas Academy of Family Law Specialists Presented Underwood Shareholder Chris Wrampelmeier with the Sam Emison Award

On August 8, 2022, at the Advanced Family Law Course, Underwood shareholder Chris Wrampelmeier presented a paper entitled “New Discovery Frontiers: Rule Changes and Impacts from Both Sides of the Bench” with the Hon. Emily Miskell, Presiding Judge of the 470th District Court.  

Two days later, the Texas Academy of Family Law Specialists presented Mr. Wrampelmeier with the Sam Emison Award. Each year, the Sam Emison Award is bestowed upon one exceptionally distinguished family law practitioner or judge who has demonstrated a significant commitment and made significant contributions to the practice of family law in the State of Texas. The Sam Emison Award is one of the most coveted awards in Texas family law.

Underwood Attorney Slater Elza Presents to the Lubbock County Bar Association

Underwood attorney Slater C. Elza spoke to the Lubbock County Bar Association this August on “Ethics Jeopardy”. Slater presented with his fellow State Bar Litigation Council Board Members J. Paul Manning and Cade Browning to address a number of potential ethical issues for Texas lawyers. The State Bar Litigation Section is comprised of nearly nine thousand members from all parts of the State and all sides of the Bar. They are a neutral organization comprised of plaintiff attorneys, defense attorneys, judges, mediators/arbitrators, pro bono attorneys and law students who are dedicated to improving our justice system and the quality of legal services delivered to Texans.